Help! I can’t post on WordPress blogs!

Usually it’s Blogger or BlogSpot that gives me problems while swinging through the #SweetSat samples and leaving comments for our talented writers. This week it’s WordPress. It won’t let me comment because I refuse to allow WordPress to direct the comment back to my old WP account, when I’d prefer the comment point to my independent website.

WordPress bloggers, you can help. On your Dashboard, go to Settings and then to Discussion. Find the box for “Users must be registered and logged in to comment” and uncheck it. This hopefully allows readers to post comments to your blog without using a WordPress or Facebook account. Some readers don’t have such accounts, and others (like me) don’t want to use them for various reasons.

Sooner or later all the various blogging companies and independent websites might learn to get along. In the meantime, if you want more comments, writers, you can loosen your settings beyond what the companies assign as the default.

Cheers,

Gunnar

UPDATE Twenty minutes later: After running an experiment with the ever-helpful Sarah Ballance, we’ve established that little box makes no difference to whether I can comment on WordPress blogs or not. Sorry, everybody, I really thought we had something there. If anyone figures out this mystery, please, come back and let us know, please?

This entry was posted in Minutiae and Sweet Stats. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Help! I can’t post on WordPress blogs!

  1. My box wasn’t checked. If you had trouble at my blog, please let me know. I’ll have to figure out what else it might have been. (Always something, huh?)

    • Gunnar says:

      Well, that was a brief experiment. WordPress will not allow me to post comments to your blog, Sarah. So I guess it’s not the little box. If you figure it out, come back and tell us all, okay?

  2. Patricia says:

    Hi, Gunnar –
    It seems WordPress is ‘forcing’ people to sign-in before commenting. click the icon you want to use: WP, Twitter, or FB. For people who do not have a blog, they still need to sign in – just leave the website field blank.
    Here, on your blog, it says: “Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in”
    I am going to try signing in here. I will let you know how it goes.

    Patricia

    OK, I just tried to enter without filling in every field, system stopped me, and I got flagged – in red typeface – to enter my email and name.
    Then I tried to enter again, and received another flag asking me to log in – which I will do now – and hopefully this will post.

  3. Patricia says:

    Hi, again, ok, that posted.
    If you want, test it out on my blog, pick a post, and enter a commentt.

    Patricia

    • Gunnar says:

      That’s kinda the point, Patricia. I don’t want to comment using Twitter, Facebook, or WordPress. I want to comment using my own website URL. We’ll try it again Saturday and see what happens, okay?

  4. sassyspeaks says:

    I believe it has to do with wordpress and the e mail address you are using. My e mail is linked to my wp acct. Trying this from the site, not logged into WP. I doubt it will work.

  5. sassyspeaks says:

    I believe it has to do with wordpress and the e mail address you are using. My e mail is linked to my wp acct. Trying this from the site, not logged into WP. I doubt it will work – it didn’t – I’m logged in now.

Leave a Reply

